Should We Be Teaching Web 2.0?

I can remember the first time I used the Internet for research.  I can remember the first time I connected with others and created my new network for learning.  That was back in the late 90’s.  It was an empowering experience as I looked into the crystal ball of what my career in education would be. Luckily at that time I had a nice computer (at that time it has 1gig hard drive and about 32mb or ram) with lightning speed Internet access of my 56k modem.  The bottom line is that it completely changed they way I saw myself in this world.  This was truly an empowering experience that all students should be able to go through.  Do you think we are meeting the needs of the 21st century learner through our current instructional practices?  This is a great presentation that I found on Slideshare.

This entry was posted in 21st Century Skills, A Thought, Best Practices in Education, BlogsWikisPodcasts, Web 2.0 in the Classroom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Should We Be Teaching Web 2.0?

  1. PDonaghy says:

    Hi William
    In answer to your question – yes absolutely! Web 2.0 was not available in my day – I only wish it had been 🙂
    Patricia
    PS: you might be interested in adding your blog information to the new searchable Intenational Edubloggers Directory at http://edubloggerdir.blogspot.com

  2. wbrennan says:

    Hi Patricia,
    Thank you for stopping by. I will definitely post it on that site. What sort of projects are you working on with your students? Where abouts do you work?
    Be well…
    Bill

  3. Lilly says:

    When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked
    on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a way you can remove me from that service?

    Cheers!

  4. Thanks designed for sharing such a pleasant thinking, post
    is pleasant, thats why i have read it fully

  5. This is a good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Short but very precise info… Many thanks for
    sharing this one. A must read post!

  6. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to
    the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to
    make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  7. Howdy! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward
    to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

  8. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information approximately this subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve found out till now.
    But, what concerning the bottom line? Are you sure concerning the supply?

  9. Hi there colleagues, its impressive piece of writing
    concerning educationand entirely defined, keep it up all the time.

Leave a Reply

